>Back to Scrum

>Unfortunately in my day-to-day work until recently I had to work on some projects that had more resemblence to Waterfall methodology and less to do with Agile methodology. Fortunately, that is changing and I’ll be talking a bit more about some items I’m learning from applying agile to my latest project. Particularly challenging is the fact that the team is spread across half the world so we have a wide variety of time zones to deal with.

Also many of the team members have not worked with Scrum and the techniques it introduces. So there is a lot of education and catch up to do in the first couple of sprints. However, as I knock of the rust I tend to refer back to my two major reference pieces:

  • Agile Estimating and Planning by Mike Cohn. I’ve stated before that I think if you are a Scrum master for your project, you can’t live without this book. Anytime I’ve had a question, I’ve usually found a suggested solution within the book.
  • Clean Code by Uncle Bob Martin. This provides invaluable coding techniques and disciplines that help keep the code clean and manageable.

As with any agile project, we’ll be making some tweaks to the rules outlined by scrum to adapt to the project. Scrum by itself isn’t going to make this a success, it’s going to be the team and product owners working together to meet the common goal. Scrum will expose the pain points early (it already has in several cases in the first sprint), which is a good thing. Management so far is enthusiastic about the visibility it brings into the project (i.e. Burn Down Charts are their friends).

So stay tuned, I’m sure I’ll be writing more about the adventure I’m on as we go forward.

This entry was posted in agile, craftsmanship, scrum. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

