>WSO2 WSAS 3.0.x…sigh.

>There is a reason I typically stay away from x.0 releases. WSO2 Carbon based WSAS is showing me again why. In general if you are implementing simple web services it works fine, and are generating basic Axis 2 1.4 based clients and server applications. The problems come in when you start to implement or test some of the more advanced enterprise level features.

WS-Reliable Messaging:

The issue with the WS-Reliable Messaging implementation in WSAS 3.0.x is that it’s not based on an official release of the Sandesha2 1.3 jars. The code is based on a branch from the head of the Sandesha2 repository. This in general I do not have an issue with, however, there appears no way to generate ALL of the necessary client side JARs and MARs that are needed. In particular, I have not found the necessary MAR for Sandesha2. Supposedly this is supposed to be available when running the build.xml file found in the bin directory. However, this does not seem to be available in any of the directories that it should be.

Without the necessary client side JARs and MARs it’s impossible to resolve the compatibility issues without going to Apache, and checking out the source, then building it myself. Not a step that should be necessary.

Eclipse Web Tools for WSAS:

Unfortunately this is a big strike against the WSAS Tools. Taking a very basic WSDL, it will not complete the client side generation of that WSDL when it is targeted for a WSAS server. It stops and complains that it can’t find a necessary Axis 2 jar file. Again, shouldn’t this all be included with the WSAS tools when the plugins were installed?

Also, it would be nice if it would ask if I was doing WS-ReliableMessaging so that the appropriate MAR file can be copied for me. Yes, I have opened bugs regarding these problems with WSo2.

Disappointment:

The sad thing is that I have some people interested in WSO2 because of it’s claim of easy configuration and implementation of some enterprise level features like WS-ReliableMessaging, WS-Policy, and WS-Addressing. It’s just appears that this needed a bit more time to bake or more public testing before releasing this product. I work for a standards organization, and this would be a great way for us to test and show interoperable implementations of our web services specifications, but at the moment I can not get by the most basic of errors with out jumping through extrodinary hoops.

I’ll probably back down to WSAS 2.3, which seemed to be a bit more stable, and hope that WSAS improves. If the WSAS developers want to provide me with a way to work with them and test out the problems I’m having, I’m more than willing to do so. In fact, I would invite them to show me how to get a STAR Web Service communicating with WSAS 3.0, for an upcoming demonstration we need to do. Any takers?

This entry was posted in eclipse, web services. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to >WSO2 WSAS 3.0.x…sigh.

  1. Charitha says:

    >David,Now, sandesha.mar is not shipped with WSAS. Instead, org.wso2.carbon.rm_*.jar has all the necessary sandesha classes. This jar will be copied to $WSAS_HOME/repository/lib directory once you run ant from $WSAS_HOME/bin.Then please add the relevant jars available in $WSAS_HOME/repository/lib to your client class path, engage addressing and try your scenario. It should work. I just tried a request-reply-addressable RM scenario and worked fine. Please let me know if you run in to more problems.This procedure will be properly documented in the next version.RegardsCharitha

  2. Saminda says:

    >Hi David,The eclipse plugins you have tested were not the released version. There might have beeing some issues back then. The tools were officially released 2 days ago (2nd March 2009) Check the page http://wso2.org/downloads/tools/eclipse for downloads of the features or the online update site http://tools.wso2.org/eclipse . Can you test with them pls and respond to the issue. https://wso2.org/jira/browse/WSAS-813We tested your problem back when you’ve created the issue but were not able to recreate it in our environment, (both windows and linux).We appreciate your feedback.

  3. Afkham Azeez says:

    >Hmm…Before taking time to write such a long post, you could have at least tried the CommodityQuite sample in WSAS. It demonstrates Security, RM & SecureRM. A small peek at the sample code should have made your life so much easier.

  4. Afkham Azeez says:

    >We would greatly appreciate it if you could respond to the issue you raised at https://wso2.org/jira/browse/WSAS-813We weren’t able to reproduce the issue and are waiting for your response.

  5. David Carver says:

    >Thanks for the responses guys. I’ll answer here and the issues I raised, and include the source on the issues:@Saminda: The WSO2 Tools version I tested was the just released version from March 2 fro the blog posting on Planet. It gives the exact same error as I had before. Happens with Eclipse 3.4.1 and 3.4.2 with WTP 3.0.4 installed.@Afkham: The easiest way I can provide you with sample, buy you can generate samples from the WSDL I use from the STAR 5 repository at http://www.starstandard.org. The WSDLs are included in the STAR 5 XML Data sig section of the website.So yes, I did my research before posting the entry.

  6. David Carver says:

    >@Afkham: I looked at the sample, and did some reconfiguration and I still get the same result. I’ve attached my service and client code to jira issue:https://wso2.org/jira/browse/WSAS-814I'll try to import and test the sample you pointed out later today.

  7. Afkham Azeez says:

    >David,Thanks for filing the issue. We will look into this immediately & get back to you.

Leave a Reply

