>XML Tools for Eclipse: Eclipse Tools for Silverlight and Linux

>I have a short talk for EclipseCon 2009 discussing the various XML related tools in various eclipse projects. I was going to take a look at the Eclipse Tools for Microsoft Silverlight project code and proposal, capture some screen shots, and take it for a spin. Unfortunately, it only works on Windows.

Since it was eclipse based, and Novel is working with Microsoft on the Moonlight project to bring Silverlight to Linux, I figured it would at least not toss errors. The errors I see are in the way of OS checks for preferences. It looks like it is currently only for Microsoft Windows, which in some ways defeats the purpose of having an eclipse based version in my opinion. One of the big advantages for eclipse over Visual Studio is that it’s not locked into one particular platform to run. The project proposal does state that one of the goals is to have it run on non Microsoft operating systems, so I’ll be keeping an eye on it. Hopefully, closer work with the Mono project and Novell can be done over the next year to help make this a reality.

If the maintainers of the project would like me to include some screen shots within my presentation, please feel free to drop me a note. I promise to be kind. You can usually find me on #eclipse or leave a comment here.

This entry was posted in eclipse, mono, silverlight, xml. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to >XML Tools for Eclipse: Eclipse Tools for Silverlight and Linux

  1. yves.yang says:

    >Cross Platform Interoperability is one of the main goals of this project. The next release will address the suppoert on Mac OS X. Please feel free to include this project in your presentation. As you know, I work on Declarative UI in e4. XWT it another project you may mention in your talk. For one of our customer, we have extended VE to edit XSWT. Are you this Open Source project?Contact me if you have further question.Best regardsYves YANG

  2. yves.yang says:

    >> Are you this Open Source project?Sorry, I mean "Are you interested in this Open Source project?"

  3. David Carver says:

    >@yves.yang: I’m the one that volunteered to try and create an XML Schema for XWT, but so far nobody has submitted me a requirements document or how the files are to be appear. With out the basics, it’s difficult to construct the schema.Also, please send me some screen shots at d_a_carver at yahoo dot com.

  4. yves.yang says:

    >Hi Dave,As for the schema of XWT, I think we need it in xsd. The purpose of this file is to be enable to generate Ecore model. Regardsyves

  5. fatguyclimbs says:

    >I recently caught a notification that Microsoft is releasing a plug-in for Visual Studio that will allow support for Flex. So the question is: Microsoft thinking about giving up on Silverlight?

  6. David Carver says:

    >Doubt it…it's standard microsoft tactic..provide basic support…and conversion to their language…but not conversion from their languag to the other.

Leave a Reply

